Like Tree9Likes

Any advice on how to speed up GEP Reconsideration Request (work visa appeal)?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Any advice on how to speed up GEP Reconsideration Request (work visa appeal)?

Hi all,

So after waiting for four months my GEP visa was declined. Me employer and I are appealing the decision but they really do need someone in the role ASAP. The appeal was sent in about three weeks ago - does anyone have any advice on the best way to try and get HKID to review my case in the next week or two?

Coming up to five months now from the date of offer and there's only so long my new employer can wait (which I completely understand). I've been hired for a leadership role (I have several years management experience) paying circa 50,000HKD p/m. Whilst I didn't go to University, I have tertiary education in my field of expertise.

Everyone I've spoken to is shocked my visa was declined, so we're hopeful the appeal will be successful, but if it's not dealt with in the next few weeks then there's a possibility my role will no longer be available!!

Any help very much appreciated.

If your employer can't document and prove why they can't find a local and can't sustantiate why you are a better candidate than a local, who is also likely to be trilingual, IMO you don't have enough merit for a visa. With the current high rate of unemployment in Hong Kong, its going to be tough to win your case IMO. Also, despite being a leadership role, your salary does not imply C-Suite where there may be more room for ambiguity. I would instead focus on a scarce expert angle if that fits your case.

You and the company should keep in mind the days of a Brit jetting in and thinking they will take over are long gone. I think your prospective employer needs to get some feedback for the rejection and focus on refuting the specifics but IMO its been laid out for you above.

Last edited by RMDNC; 24-10-2020 at 12:35 AM.
    Hkemail888 likes this.