Like Tree1Likes

Investment Visa

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Investment Visa

Hi everyone,

I am going to invest $6.5mil in HK and I am willing to get a temporary HKID. Now i am curious about the HKID, as i heard, i have to wait 7 years to get the permanent HKID. So with the temporary HKID, Can i get a HK Passporteand travel to USA without visa? I live in China and i am a Chinese resident.

Thanks for all the help,

William

Sorry to be a downer, but the Capital Investment Entrant Scheme is only open to Chinese nationals who have obtained permanent resident status in a foreign country. So I don't think you are able to obtain the capital investment visa. Furthermore, holders of a HK passport still need a visa to visit the US (although I think it is only a formality).

Last edited by chimo; 19-01-2009 at 09:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by WilliamLin:
    Hi everyone,

So with the temporary HKID, Can i get a HK Passport and travel to USA without visa?

William
    No, you can't get a HK passport and no, AFAIK, even when you get a Permanent ID and a HK passport you still won't be able to travel to the US without a visa (unless the criteria change in the meantime).

Probably best to contact HK Immigration dept for the details of applying for your HK visa, they'll tell you what you need to know/do but a visa, ID card and passport are all very different things.

William, You can just get Philippines permanent residency by depositing 75k usd, and then apply for the HK CIES. That is the route taken by my mainland friends.

Quote Originally Posted by Erasmus:
    William, You can just get Philippines permanent residency by depositing 75k usd, and then apply for the HK CIES. That is the route taken by my mainland friends.
    USD$75,000 where? to get a Philippine Permanent Resident? Meaning you will also be able to get a Philippine Passport?