7 years for per. HKID

Closed Thread

7 years for per. HKID

Hi, I have been working in hk for the last 6 years and 7 months and i would like to know if i can apply for permanent HKID now or 7 years is must before submitting the application. I appreciate your dvice.:

You must have been living in Hong Kong, legally (i.e. with a visa permitting residence) continuously for 7 years on the day that you submit the application. Time spent here as a visitor does not count towards the 7 years.

see point 'd.' on this page for the exact position of the govt...you can apply the day after you complete 7 years of legal residence; and your Permanent status begins only after you have been approved...

Last edited by timklip; 29-03-2009 at 04:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by abtow:
    Hi, I have been working in hk for the last 6 years and 7 months and i would like to know if i can apply for permanent HKID now or 7 years is must before submitting the application. I appreciate your dvice.:
    Thanks guys for the info, 5 months to go, not very long time to wait provided if i stll keep my job!!!!!1

If your Employment Visa extends already beyond the 7 years then you're safe. Unfortunately, many of them run out at 7 years. In this case you have to apply for an extension to you Employment Visa a few weeks before it expires, knowing that on day 1 of you new extended visa you will apply for PR. Note that PR takes quite a few weeks to be granted, even once you have submitted all the documentation (tax returns, property leases, utility bills, passport copies, etc etc) to ImmD's satisfaction.

I will have completed 7 full years in HK on 7-Dec-2010, which is when my current work visa expires.

My employer is making me redundant on 30-Sep-2010.

What I'm wondering is if I can apply for PR on the day my work visa expires, then leave HK and return on a tourist visa after the 7-Dec-2010 and still get my PR approved by Immigration?