Going out/in of HK after quitting Job

Closed Thread

Going out/in of HK after quitting Job

Hi all,

I've been working in HK for 3 years and will quit my job next month, leave HK for few weeks/1 month to relax, and come back to look for a new job.

Although my working visa will be officialy cancelled, can I still use my HKID to exit HK and come back? (it's however valid for more than a year)

What is the tolerance to stay in this situation? (until a new job/income requires to renew the visa)

Thanks!

If ur visa is cancelled then u cant use your ID. But u can return to HK on a tourist visa and once u get a new job and visa then u can use your ID.

But PDLM will give u all the links etc exactly what u can and cant do

if your current employer informs immigration dept about your employment termination, then your employment visa gets cancelled. you can't enter HK in employment visa.

this is NOT true...your employer will (must) inform immigration about your termination of employment, BUT your visa will still be valid UNTIL THE EXPIRY DATE IMPRINTED ON THE VISA STICKER ITSELF...in fact, if you then find another sponsor, you will have the sponsorship of your current visa transferred (they'll add a sticker to the current visa page) until the expiry of the current visa , and will then have to renew your visa at that time..in the meantime you can enter/exit HK as often as you like while your visa is valid.

I am speaking from my own personal experience with this situation, with a 3 month gap between jobs, and 10 months left on my visa after I quit my sponsored job.

Last edited by timklip; 31-03-2009 at 03:40 PM.

Thanks Timklip, this is more flexible than what I thought.
    So basically as long as I stay in HK without having a new income/job, I'm free to go in/out with my current HKID until it expires in 1 year. It gives time to think about new opportunities.