Partner getting visa. How can I get a visa?

Smile Partner getting visa. How can I get a visa?

I am a New Zealand born citizen with a British passport. I have a masters degree and have worked in mainly HR but also mediation for many years. My partner could be in the process of being appointed to a position in Hong Kong for 2 years.
    Can I get a visa/work permit for that period? If so under what circumstances.
    Alternatively can I get a visitors visa for that duration?

Matthewsdad:

Last edited by matthewsdad; 03-04-2009 at 06:11 PM. Reason: Add info

If your partner is your legally married wife, you can get a dependent visa.

If you can find a job that will sponsor you, you can get an employment visa.

With a British passport, you can come as a visitor for 180 days, and probably swing at least one "visa run" to renew it.

What you cannot get is a dependent visa if you are not married to your partner.... in which case most of the folks on here will just jump in and tell you to get married .

Best bet is probably a long term visitor while looking for a job (I should add this is technically illegal but if you are white nobody seems to care). If you fancy teaching english, you can get some training and try for a (low paid if no experience) job just to get the visa. Or look for a job in your own field but I guess HR might need Cantonese ? As everywhere, jobs are not falling off trees right now.

Last edited by MovingIn07; 04-04-2009 at 08:25 AM.

The major global firms have expats in senior HR roles along with top local talent filling top spots with local talent filling the balance of the jobs. If you are senior in HR and not been out of the HR mix for too long then it'd be fair to say you could challenge for those jobs. However, I keep thinking to those expats I meet regularly in HR and seemingly many have been here for a long time and many were simply posted here from whereever they came.