self employed in HK

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

self employed in HK

I am a trader who owns a Hong Kong BVI, and sources the parts I sell from Shenzhen. Will my Hong Kong BVI company qualify as my having employment in Hong Kong, in order that I can attain residency (not even sure if that is the right term)? The point is Honk Kong is Ideal for my business and my family. I can spend a few days in Shenzhen, and then be back to Home with my family. We would like to live in HK indefinitely.

Last edited by dak712000; 07-10-2009 at 08:16 PM.

it would depend on the type of visa you have to allow you to live in hk.

I'm curious as to what a "Hong Kong BVI company" is?

A Hong Kong BVI is a Hong Kong British Virgin Islands corporation.
    It allows us to operate Hold a Hong Kong Business Account.
    I have over the years and continue to trade though this account.

Quote Originally Posted by dak712000:
    I am a trader who owns a Hong Kong BVI, and sources the parts I sell from Shenzhen. Will my Hong Kong BVI company qualify as my having employment in Hong Kong, in order that I can attain residency (not even sure if that is the right term)? The point is Honk Kong is Ideal for my business and my family. I can spend a few days in Shenzhen, and then be back to Home with my family. We would like to live in HK indefinitely.
    Quite unclear about what you meant by "Hong Kong BVI". In any case, having a Hong Kong company doesn't not mean that you can live in Hong Kong "indefinitely". You still need to go through the investment visa process, which will require operating an actual office, submitting business plans etc. Same thing if you set up a branch of an overseas company (for instance BVI) in Hong Kong. Check the immigration website for more details.