After losing the ROA..... what next?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

After losing the ROA..... what next?

Hi Guys,

I am new to geoexpat and this is my first post. Please help, would any of you have a clear idea what happens in the following situation.

I hold a permanent HKID card (old one) issued on(December 1998) I have not visited HK since PR was granted to me its been over 11 years now.

From the immigration regulations, I gathered that I would naturally lose my permanent residency status and have the Right to Land.

When I communicated with Immigration Dept, they informed me that I should visit HK on a vistor's visa and 1) then apply for a smart identity card within 30 days of my arrival in HK, and
    2) an assessment will be made on whether I have lost my PR status and retained the right to land in the HK before issuance of the smart identity card.

OK, I understand I need to get a new Smart ID card but whats with the assessment? I was a permanent resident, I was absent for more than 36 months and now I wish to return and look for job.

I thought I could still travel to HK on my current HKID card and Immigration at the airport would advise me to go to the Immigration and apply for a smart card and then revert to being an ordinary resident.

What is the assessment? What is the criteria they are looking to fulfill for the residency status? Is there any way I can bolster my case?

Please advise whehter you know of any people who were in the same situation as I am in and whether this "assessment" is a hurdle in any way to prevent me from having the Right To Land in HK?

Your feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal

Your old card is no longer valid as all cards are now Smart Cards. You need to 'upgrade' to use the terminals at Immigration. Hence you have to enter on a visitor's visa.

I don't see any way you could not have at least Right to Land with a Permanent HKID issued after 1997.