Like Tree2Likes

Dependant Visas

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Dependant Visas

I noted with much interest the recent information regarding the above subject. And may this sound repetitive.

I would just like to clarify a few points - I have read the eligibity criteria on the Immigration web site but interpretation and practical experience would be much appreciated.

My wife is HK born with a HKID,British Passport and all her family living in HK. We are hoping to return, subject of course to addressing the requirements, to live and work.

1. What criteria would she come under to satisfy the application ?

2. I understand that it would be better for her to be in HK for the application is that correct?

3. Does she require a job or evidence of fiancial support beforehand?

4. I hope to seek a job teaching English as I have over 10 years experience teaching international students in the UK. Any comments would be appreciated.

5. Timescale from application to result approx.

Feedback would be much appreciated.

1. If her HKID says on it "Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card" then she's a HK Permanent Resident (it may be that she may have a change of status to Right to Land if she has been away from HK for more than 36 months consecutively, but that doesn't significantly affect the Dependant Visa).

2. Marginally, but only really in terms of convenience of dealing with Immigration; you can apply from outside HK as well, either by mail or to your nearest Chinese Consulate.

3. Yes - she needs to be able to show that she can provide somewhere for you to live and to support you financially.

4. Teaching English in many places (specifically language centres and private tuition) will, regrettably, be harder if you aren't white. But if you have good formal qualifications as well as experience then you might well be able to get a job in a government or ESF or independant schools.