Chinese websites for apartment rentals and relocation allowance question

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Chinese websites for apartment rentals and relocation allowance question

Hello all,

I've been offered a job in HK and am currently negotiating the relocation allowance/salary. I've been reading this forum for a few days and found it extremely useful.

I know it's useful to have some background about my situaton to be in a better position to answer any questions - so here goes!

I've been offered a job in Sales & Marketing it's a Junior/mid-level position I guess and I will only be managing one member of staff. I've about 6 years experience and fluent Mandarin. If I accept the position I will be relocating from the UK with my Chinese fiance (Mandarin - not Cantonese speaking). There's the life story!

I wonder if anyone can kindly help with these three questions:

1. Relocation allowance - I've been offered $3000 HKD. I feel this is quite low as I will probably spend about half that just for the plane tickets from the UK-HK for my fiance and I! (especially as Oasis went out of business a few years ago

What kind of relocation allowances have you guys/girls received? does this seem low? I know I'm not working for a big investment bank or anything and it's only a mid-level role but I think at least a few more $1000 HKD would make the move easier. Am I asking for too much? Any thoughts?

2. Which websites do Chinese people use to find apartments/houses to rent in HK?

3. Can anyone kindly recommend some areas within 1 hour of Times Square where mainly locals live but there are good transport links and most importantly it is relatively peaceful, stress free and as much fresh air as possible if that's feasible in HK!