New to HK: Single male looking for advice!

Closed Thread

New to HK: Single male looking for advice!

Hello,

This is my first time on the forum, and I've noticed that it's better to give as much relevant detail as possible, so here goes:
    - 22 year old single male
    - about to move to HK in a few weeks to start work, which will be near the Bank of China tower in Central
    - willing to spend around 20 ~ 30 minutes for commute to work, preferably a combination of walking and MTR, but not much longer than that
    - I don't know what percentage of post-tax salary is typically spent on rent, but right now, I'd budget around HK$10~12K per month
    - relatively convenient access to malls, restaurants, bars/clubs/pubs, cafes, supermarkets, etc. would be of course liked, but they don't have to be *instantly* accessible
    - hopefully a reasonably new property with good facilities such as gym and swimming pool
    - some higher-than-average density of expats would be cool, but doesn't have to be expat-central
    - can be HK island or Kowloon
    - I don't speak any Cantonese whatsoever, but hopefully that'll change soon!

So, what are your thoughts and advice for me? What kind of size can I expect? Is something around 500 sqft too big with those constraints? Do you have recommendations for specific complexes?

Thank you so much for your help!

Since you are single male, 10k-12k is enough....You could get a 400-600sqft apart easily in HK island, my work building is next to yours. I am now looking at Happy Valley, Mid Level, Wanchai, Tin Hau....

Happy Valley, Mid Level have a lot of expats, Wanchai is local & expats mixed, Tin Hau has more local people compared to the other three. But I think they are all pretty nice.