Again: Moving to Lamma

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Again: Moving to Lamma

Hi again,

Since I've been wanting to live on Lamma for a looong time, I went to an agent yesterday and found the almost perfect flat to share with a buddy.
    Since he's currently living on Lamma already he won't have much trouble moving around.

I'm currently still living in Jordan/Yau Ma Tei.
    How much would moving my stuff to Lamma cost me approx.?
    Actually it isn't even much; a sofa-bed, cupboard, and lots of clothing

Anybody's got any experience with a cheap (I'm a student ) "mover" who can arrange the pick up in Jordan, carry on the ferry and transport on one of those nice ATVs on Lamma?

Thanks in advance!

there is a lamma website - just google it.

the adminstrator of that site lives in lamma and can help you with your queries

lamma.com.hk, Ive been searching through it but it seems like their forum is gone dead

The last post was 35 minutes ago and was about accomodation on Lamma- hardly a dead forum!!

Do a search for 'Man with a Van' and you will get plenty of numbers to call. The VV's on the island cost around HKD100 per run from the ferry pier to your house- depending on where you move to. There are various numbers for VV drivers on lamma.com.hk, the one I would recommend is Mr Hung who owns Brother Supermarket which you can find in the bi-lingual yellow pages which is linked to on the left of the homepage.

You have to do some work yourself to get some answers..............

Lightbulb

Thanks Lammarite, I did some work, though it was not that good I guess

Anyhow, it seems like I will be moving very very soon. Everything is arranged now, only unclear thing left:
    How much are the cargo tickets for the Lamma ferry? I tried to ask them - but no English
    A friend said its by volume, another one said its by "guessing". I'll try to call their hotline (if they have one) after work but maybe somebody already knows the answer?!