Student moving to HK (bit of a budget challenge)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Student moving to HK (bit of a budget challenge)

Dear Expats,

currently I am studying in Amsterdam, but will move to HK on April1 for my internship there for a period of 5 months.
    Thus I am looking for a reasonable place to stay. I came across the Horizon Apex Apartments, which look fine, I am more than willing to journey from there to TST for my internship etc.

Price-wise it is fine as well, but I do not need all these amenities there necessarily. Thus I wonder if anyone of you has some good ideas for unserviced but furnished apartments around HKD 8,000 or, well, less.

I know that this is a very tight budget, but since its an unpaid internship... I guess you get the hang of it.

Thanks a bunch in advance already for any tip, no matter how small.

Best regards, take care

Sebastian

After some more research I digged up:
    i-house (no reviews to find)
    cityloft (mixed reviews)
    horizon apex (mixed - positive reviews, pool etc, farer away)

any concrete opinions?
    thx

Get a flatshare if you want to save money.

Thanks for your answer. I am considering this as an option indeed, but for this I am going through classifieds and sites separately. This thread is thought to help me a bit with apartments to rent.
    Thanks.

OK. But you seem to be looking for serviced apartments, which are obviously expensive.

When I arrived in HK I first stayed in a hostel, which was cheap and also very helpful because there were loads of people there in the same boat as me. Many years later, I still keep in touch with dozens of them.

Semi-serviced, if I may say so. I very much clean up after myself, having moved out when I turned 18 quite a couple of years ago.

Anyway, for my 5 months in HK I am looking for something easy and convenient. Another issue is that after arriving in HK and starting my internship is less then a week (if you dont count the public holiday)