Like Tree19Likes

HKU Student

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

HKU Student

Hi everyone,

I'll be moving to Hong Kong from the US in mid-August/whenever my student visa arrives, and I'm trying to find accommodation near the University. I'm a Postgraduate student, so I'm tired of the residence hall life and not up for sharing a bedroom with another obnoxious college student again. I was looking at the Pokfield Road residences provided by the university, and they seem like the cheapest option that would allow me to have my own room along with a space to cook which is essential on my budget. However, I am concerned with all the rules that go with university housing. I read that overnight guests of the opposite gender and alcohol are just two of the things not allowed. I was wondering how strictly these rules are enforced by HKU. It's not like I want to throw crazy parties or anything, but I'd like to be able to have a glass of wine in the comfort of my room and not have my boyfriend have to pay for a hotel when he already pays for a round-trip flight to visit me. If the rules are always enforced, I am in the market for a cheap studio or shared flat near HKU.

Why should the rules not apply to you?
    Not that I care about your glass of wine or your bf staying over. But the rules are laid out, if you can abide with them...look further.

I understand that completely, but I've seen similar "rules" in college dorms that were only written and not enforced by anyone. I was just wondering if anyone knew from personal experience what it was like at the Pokfield Road residences.

Open Casket likes this.

I don't think the OP expects the rules not to be applied to her; rather she is asking whether the rules are strictly enforced.
    @kaitypie

I have a feeling that rules about alcohol and partners of the opposite sex are enforced.

I think the drinking thing isn't strictly enforced, but the overnight guest thing might be. I have some friends I can ask....