Like Tree4Likes

Visiting scholar HKU: housing in hall/ Robert Black/ or Airbnb?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Visiting scholar HKU: housing in hall/ Robert Black/ or Airbnb?

Hi all! I'm new at GeoExpat and I'm hoping to get some advice from you.

I will move to Hong Kong in Jan to work at Hong Kong University for 4 months. I'm now looking into the housing issue. My budget is not great (around 10/ 15K) and I would like to have some space (knowing HK units can be very small) and stay on the island, preferably the west. What do you think about these options:
    - St. John's college, they have a guest room available in the graduate hall. This is a private en suite for 11.5K. But coming from the Netherlands, I'm not familiar at all with living in halls. Would this be peaceful/ boring/ a party place for students? I.e. is this suitable for a 30s working female?
    - A private room in Robert Black College, the guesthouse of HKU’s overseas visitors. It might be nice to meet other temporary HKU staff, and the pictures of the building look beautiful. However, I cannot find any pictures or info about the rooms there and it is more expensive: 17K. Does anyone know this place? Is it worth the money?
    - A room in someone else's apartment or a very small studio via Airbnb.

Since I’ve never been to Hong Kong, some inside advice would be very much appreciated!

Can I just clarify that you are only staying in Hong Kong for 4 months? If you are staying for at least a year you could try looking for a studio/1 bed apartment for around that budget. Otherwise if only 4 months then I'm afraid I'm not too sure on renting rooms inside colleges...

Yes, that's right mr22, I will be there only for 4 months. Both St. John's and Robert Black college confirmed that they have a guest room available for that period for the monthly price mentioned above.

Quote Originally Posted by Lonne:
    Hi all! I'm new at GeoExpat and I'm hoping to get some advice from you.