Like Tree31Likes

Quiet apartment within walking distance to central ferry pier

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Quiet apartment within walking distance to central ferry pier

Hello!

I am moving to Hong Kong in July and will have 2 weeks to find an apartment before I start working on Lantau Island. I am keen to live on Hong Kong Island and commute by ferry each day. As I am completely new to Hong Kong I would appreciate some help in answering the following questions: Thank you in advance!

1. Given the time period of 2 weeks to find an apartment is using an estate agent a good idea? If so can you please recommend one that is reliable and geared toward expats?

2. On Hong Kong Island, do walking times on google maps tend to be correct?

2. I am keen to live near Soho as this would be a good walking distance to the ferry pier. Do the high rise buildings there (for example: Centrestage or Lillian Court) tend to be very noisy if they are not double-glazed?

3. My job contract is for 2 years. Would you recommend buying furniture or finding a furnished apartment?

5. Do any estate agents work on a Sunday/can apartment viewing be carried out at the weekend?

6. I have read that it is most common for a rent lease to be 2 years. What is the typical notice period both ways (landlord and tenant)?

I'm so looking forward to moving to Hong Kong! Thank you for your help

Quote Originally Posted by jogoodlad:
    Hello!

I am moving to Hong Kong in July and will have 2 weeks to find an apartment before I start working on Lantau Island. I am keen to live on Hong Kong Island and commute by ferry each day. As I am completely new to Hong Kong I would appreciate some help in answering the following questions: Thank you in advance!

1. Given the time period of 2 weeks to find an apartment is using an estate agent a good idea? If so can you please recommend one that is reliable and geared toward expats?