Dealing with Agents

Closed Thread

Dealing with Agents

Hi everyone,

I am new to HK and have been reading a lot about renting in HK on this forum. Just wanted to seek some advice on how to avoid getting scammed by agents. What are some of the personal background/information I should be expecting to provide? I am trying to avoid the situation where they know too much about me and trying to take advantage. I would really appreciate it if anyone could share any advice on how to best deal with agents to get things favored your way.

Many thanks!!

What sort of area are you looking at and what sort of price range?

I suspect the issues are at the lower end of the rental market...

In general where you work and a business card should be enough to start. Some landlords might ask for a current employment letter / salary proof - most dont.

Quote Originally Posted by shri:
    What sort of area are you looking at and what sort of price range?

I suspect the issues are at the lower end of the rental market...

In general where you work and a business card should be enough to start. Some landlords might ask for a current employment letter / salary proof - most dont.
    I am looking at Hong Kong Island with a budget around 13k-17k. I haven't started working yet. Would you recommend me to wait until I officially started?

You can rent a service apartment on a monthly basis until you find the right place to live.

This is something I never understood in HK. Generally speaking, both the landlord and the tenant will pay for the agent's commission. So while, the agent is working for you, he/she is also working for the landlord. Back in Australia, the landlord pays the agent and the agent works in the interest of the landlord. This is clear and I know where I stand.