european student moving to HK

Closed Thread

european student moving to HK

hello,
    I am a french student and i'll be staying in HK from august 2010 to december 2010. I will be studying at the City U of HK. So to say, i need an place from 15th of august to 20th of december, if the place is very expensive I can make it from the 1st of september to the 20th of december/1st of january 2011

Unfortunately the university doesn't provide accommodation for its exchange students. Therefore here I am looking for a flat in HK or maybe a room I don't know yet...

I have no idea of the housing prices, I have been looking through the threads and I am planning on having something like 6000hk$ for my accommodation fees... Is it enough? knowing that I would like to be around my university ( Kowloon tong) although i have been told that this district is very expensive so maybe something a little bit farther but not too much plz!!!!

Plus I speak no chinese at all so of possible in a "english speaking area"

thanks a lot for your help

Patricia

CityU provides accommodation for exchange students. More information and application forms can be found here:

SRO - Apply for Housing

http://www.cityu.edu.hk/sro/download...l_app_form.doc

not from my university

my university told me that city u couldn't accommodate us because they already have so many students and i will only be staying some month so i am not exactly their priority so this is why i am searching by my self... quite unfortunate but of course i will try applying but apparently my chances are quite small to get a room...

thx fir your quick answer

Would you consider living in Tai Po?

A bus to Tai Po station and then the train to Kowloon Tong?

tai po

it really depends i have no idea of how long the "journey" takes if it is 45min.. kind of difficult twice a day but if it is some 20 minutes and the area is good it is no problem!