Kiwi moving to HK - many questions - help please!!

Closed Thread

Kiwi moving to HK - many questions - help please!!

Hello everyone

I am a kiwi, currently living and working in Australia, and moving to HK wiht my boyfriend at the end of this year as he has a new job there.

I have a lot of questions which I am hoping some of you may be able to help me out with...so here goes!

1. I have british passport and a new zealand passport. Will I need a visa to work in HK?

2. I am a lawyer. My area of practice is civil litigation. I was admitted in NZ in 2007. I was admitted in Australia in 2008. I understand from recruitment agencies I have spoken with that I will not be able to be admitted as a solicitor in HK until I have worked in HK for approximately 3 years. Is this correct? I would consider junioring for a barrister if this was an opportunity open to me with a view to being admitted to the HK bar as a barrister. Can anyone help? what are good litigation firms in HK? Open to all options...Would it be easier to get admitted in HK if I could get admitted on the papers in say the UK before coming to HK? Thoughts?

Hope to hear back from someone! Thanks for your help...no doubt I'll have more questions but it would be useful if someone could point me in the right direction as to where I can get answers to my questions...Thank you!

1 Yes. The easiest option (assuming you are female) is to marry your bf and get a Dependant Visa which will allow you to work freely without further paperwork.

2 I'll leave that to a lawyer...

1. Yes, you will need an employment visa to work here. Not difficult to process if you are a lawyer employed by an international firm.

2. HK Law Society has all the details on admission:
    The Law Society of Hong Kong : Hong Kong Solicitors