Moving from India-advice needed

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Moving from India-advice needed

Dear friends,
    I will be moving to hong kong in 3 months time.I will really appreciate if you people can help me with some queries.I am a regular visitor of this forum and you people are really doing a great job for newcomers.

I am male/single/23.I am a fresh graduate from IIT and have got an offer from one of the i-banks in HK.The salary offered is HKD 4,80,000 pa.The bank people says that I will not be considered as expat and hence package will not contain any relocation benefits.But on my insistance they are ready to provide air fare and 1month accomodation.
    Now I have several questions

Q1: Is this salary offer good enough?I have another offer in india who are ready to pay around 9.5 lakhs pa here?

Q2:Is the relocation benefit enough?From some other thread on this forum I have come to know that you have to pay around 3.5 months rent in advance and advance for other utilities also?If that is true how one can manage without company giving any advance cash??

Q3: Regarding leasing of the apartment,is it normal that your company signs that lease?Should I talk to the comapny about it right now ?From what I get from this forum lease is for 12 months.What if company throws you out and you have to break the lease?

Q4:Is it true that in the first year you have to pay around 30% taxes in HK?

Q5:Where do most of the young indians live in HK?Is it possible to get a studio apartment around<10K on HK island?

Q6:I understand that i-banking is heavy duty but is it normal in HK even to work on weekends.
    I will really appreciate your help.

Q1: Is this salary offer good enough?I have another offer in india who are ready to pay around 9.5 lakhs pa here?

Not too bad, though I know IIM fresh graduates recruited straight from campus as associates getting around HKD 700,000 per annum in i-banks.