Like Tree49Likes

Freshly minted banking analyst moving to HKG :) - random questions that need to be answered

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 9 ... LastLast

Freshly minted banking analyst moving to HKG :) - random questions that need to be answered

I am aware that many of these questions have been answered in some sort of manner but I am hoping to get even specific answers. I am a recent Masters graduate with a 560K + all the other typical fringe benefits - offer to move to HKG beginning in September. They will pay for 4 weeks for my living expenses before I need to find a place. I have to be in the office by 6:30am and am expected to work till 7pm every day (I am on the markets side of the bank).

1) Which areas should I live in (close to work - central, easy access to convenience stores/super markets/fresh produce store, access to bars/restaurants/night life, lots of young people - I prefer living on the beachside if its possible
    2) How easy is it to get a room mate in a similar profession that is also a recent graduate - and how much can I expect to pay rent? - Is subleasing allowed, or is it better for me to find a room mate before and sign the lease together?
    3) what items should i bring with me before moving to hong kong?
    4) do people wear suits (in my profession) even if its ridiculously hot?
    5) How easy is it to pick up cantonease?
    6) Is the culture in banking very different than North America
    7) Can I afford to travel every other weekend - note Im not an investment banker, im on the markets side ie Sales & Trading so I have life - or do I?

Would love to hear any of your experiences of being young and single, and relocating to HKG