Moving to HK - can I survive?!

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Moving to HK - can I survive?!

I'm a UK journalist and my work has offered me a post in HK. Salary they have offered is $45000 a month, though I haven't negotiated on this yet. There's no living allowance, this being a publisher.

Questions I have are:

Is this enough to rent somewhere reasonable (1 or 2br, not necessarily bang in the centre - I don't mind a commute of up to 30 mins) and live comfortably? And if my girlfriend came out with me, is this enough to support the two of us while she found work?

I'm used to London prices - will HK be a bit cheaper?

Any guidance gratefully received!

$45,000 HKD per month? Can we be friends? Lets 'yum cha' together, you pay

I think it depends on the standard of living you are used to. There are people on this board living off $8000HKD monthly (and families in HK surviving for $5000 or less a month) and then there is bankers or other highly experienced people making $100,000+ monthly.

Can you survive? Yes is the answer. Will you be happy and comfortable? Depends what you look for in life. If you don't mind commute that saves money on housing. If you cook at home sometimes that helps. If you don't drink in trendy places and eat expensive five star meals that helps.

I'm also looking to move to Hong Kong. As regards places to live I don't mind commuting up to about an hour to work, but what's rent like out there? I'm not looking for much, a 1 bedroom flat (or equivelant)

As mentioned above there is no one answer to these questions except - It Depends on how you live.

In my experience, household bills, transport, basic groceries and local dining are all cheap.

Good restaurants are quite good value, great restaurants are expensive as you would expect.

Drinking outside of happy hour is expensive.

Grocery shopping for imported goods at 'western' supermarkets is expensive.