Like Tree41Likes

18K Per month good enough for a bachelor ?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

18K Per month good enough for a bachelor ?

Hi All ,

I am a software developer from Mumbai , India , and I am planning to move to Hong Kong . I have got an offer of 18K per month [I have 2 years of experience ] .

• My office is in Kowloon Bay , so what kind of cost should I consider for House rent ? I am ok to have 40 minutes of one way travel from House to Kowloon Bay .
    • My budget is around 5-7K and I would prefer to share the House . Is it possible to have a fully furnished house with access to Gym , clubhouse , Swimming pool etc ?
    • How much is the other monthly expense for Food , other utilities like Electricity , Gas , Water , Mobile Phone bill , TV Connection , Internet ?

Also would like to have your views on my monthly salary , Is it good enough to meet expenses and save some amount from it ? . For additional info , I dont smoke, I dont drink , I am a vegetarian .

18K salary ??? doesn't look good - it should be hk$ 45000

Rent will cost you minimum HK$ 6000 in decent area in good house - if shared. I am not sure if sharing is that prevalent here. All utilities will take HK$ 1500-2000 and Indian veggie food is expensive - you need to know cooking as well.

Last edited by Joseph098765; 03-09-2012 at 07:29 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Joseph098765:
    Rent will cost you minimum HK$ 6000 in decent area in good house.
    Please tell us where you can find a house in a decent area for HKD$6000 per month.

Quote Originally Posted by emx:
    Please tell us where you can find a house in a decent area for HKD$6000 per month.
    I mean if shared - full apartment for HK$ 10 to HK$ 12 and shared in HK$ 6k.

cjjenks
    read carefully... he said 'if shared'

Quote Originally Posted by cjjenks:
    read carefully... he said 'if shared'