London to HK with baby - Bring it on?

London to HK with baby - Bring it on?

Hi all

Apologies if this has been asked before.

So many questions!

My partner has been offered the opportunity to work in HK next year and we are massively excited by the prospect but also slightly worried about certain things.

Where to start? mmmm well we are in our early thirties, unmarried with a one year old. Love going out boozin and dancing (well i say that but that was obviously before kids anyway). WE live in LOndon in a georgian terrace in Islington. Parner works in computers for bank in city and I am an interior designer (self employed).

We desperately want to do something adventurous like going to Hk with the travel possibilites and buzz of the place. However we are now proper grown ups (as parents) and have to consider the implications for our baby.

So.... the big question i suppose is, is there anywhere we could live that would be good for a toddler (away from pollution with maybe a bit of space) while not too far to commute the central HK for partner on a budget of HK30-35,000?

As we are not married I believe I can't work so if we do get married and I try and get interior design work, do people actually do their properties up bearing in mind most expats have rental properties?

Do most expat families have live in maids? I know this is quite reasonable but do not know actual figures. Bearing in mind it costs me £622 a month to send my toddler to nursery for 2 days/week in LOndon it must be cheaper!

Sorry for the long post but any ideas, suggestions etc would be great.

Thanks x

ok, first thing's first...