Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By Lootoo
  • 1 Post By Lootoo
  • 1 Post By Watercooler

Job ideas for someone with a US law degree and a few years of litigation experience?

Job ideas for someone with a US law degree and a few years of litigation experience?

I apologize if this subject has been asked many times before, but I am looking for ideas about what to do with my US law degree and two years of litigation work experience here in Hong Kong. For personal reasons, I need to relocate to Hong Kong and need to find a job here (with a work visa sponsor). I graduated from a top 10 US law school with good grades and have two years of litigation experience at a small but well-known firm. On the flip side, however, I cannot read or write Chinese, do not speak any Mandarin, and only know a small amount of Cantonese (not enough to work in the language).

I have considered trying to apply for position as an expat lawyer here in Hong Kong, but am concerned that I don’t have any corporate law experience or Chinese language proficiency. Also, I am not super interested in the idea of doing corporate transactional work (which is why I went into litigation in the first place). Does anyone have any suggestions? Would it be best to vie for a foreign lawyer position in corporate law, try to get work as a paralegal, get locally certified, or find something not law-related?

I am open to any positions, legal or non-legal (e.g., consulting, teaching, etc.), although obviously, the better the pay and work experience, the more attractive it would be. I have even considered teaching English here for a few years, although not sure how easy it would be to get those kinds of positions given my background (or whether that would harm my prospects of going back into legal practice later). Any idea on what kind of work I could do here in Hong Kong?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Whatever you decide would be a lot easier if you marry the "personal reason" and get a Dependant Visa...