Urgent Help needed...one min Syd next HK

Urgent Help needed...one min Syd next HK

Hey guys!
    I was hoping to get some help/advice for you guys who have lot more experience/knowledge than me on HK....

My situation is that I am 26 year old moving to HK after being headhunted from my JOB in Syd, Australia.

I work in the finance industry and my total comp IN HK will be around $300-350 USD per year or in HK dollar terms around 200,000 HKD per month. Anyway I was just wondering what kinda of lifestyle this gets me as I do not have any housing allowance! However my rent is tax deductible.

Can you please tell me how much I should be looking to spend with regards to accomodation as I have heard various reports. I would like live close to my office given my early starts but I am not looking to have a huge place...something small, but newish and clean.

The other problem I have is that I have an addiction...to GOLF and I have heard that it is frightfully/prohibitively expensive in HK.... Are any of the member here golfers? Any advice would be great...I heard it is quite cheap to go and play in China at Mission Hills etc....

I also had a question on food/quality...I try and eat well with a lot of fish, fruit and veg etc...is this kinda of eating expensive in HK. I love asian food but I wanna eat quite healthy if possible. Are there many take-away, cafe that cater for healthy stlye eating rather than MSG soaked foods etc....

Thank a lot for your help and advice guys. Appreciate it. Looking forward to getting to HK and making heaps of frds but also sad about leaving home here.

Quote Originally Posted by Accidental_HK
    I do not have any housing allowance! However my rent is tax deductible.
    Er, not in Hong Kong it isn't.

There is a complex scheme in HK where if, but only if, certain conditions are met then there can be a favourable tax treatment of your rent. It requires:
    - that your housing allowance be defined as such in your contract, and