moving to HK - family of 4

moving to HK - family of 4

Hi

I am a newbie here as I have just joined the forum to find out more of moving [back] to HK.

I said moving back because I moved to HK with my parents when I was a wee boy but returned to UK for university and settled in Glasgow for the last 20 years. However, during a chance visit to HK last month I was offered a job (I work as an architect) with an HKD 80k/month salary plus 2k travelling expenses per month and also 1-month-salary-bonus per year. No housing allowance nor any moving allowance, though, as it was considered a local hire.

The offered gross annual income is already 20% more than what I get in Glasgow, but with HK low tax system I guess it is much more than that. However, I am married with 2 kids - and that is the snag. With my kids unable to assimilate in local school (they speak practically no Chinese, although we are all ethnically Chinese) they must go to Internationals schools. ESF school fees are not cheap. Having no property in HK also means we need to rent a 3-bed flat, ideally in Shatin area (near our friends) or Kowloon west (for convenience??), although the office is in Quarry bay.

I have read some posts re rental, living and travelling cost but still cannot get my head around the main question whether we are able to make ends meet on my salary alone?

Any comments welcomed from those who can share their experience.

Cheers

And all those ESF/International school fees are headed up. But I think the ESF fee is still cheaper than any of the international schools.
    You should be able to make ends meet on your salary, though. Won't have the biggest apartment, nor the international school, but it won't be bad.
    Here's a way of approaching it--does the 20% increase cover the school fee and an apartment?

Last edited by Sleuth; 21-06-2008 at 02:42 PM. Reason: added the other approach