Like Tree10Likes

Moving to HK from India

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Moving to HK from India

Hi,

I am planning my move from New Delhi-India to Hong Kong, soon.

I have been offered HKD45,000 per month.

We are family of two, me and my wife.

Know us:
    Software Engineer by profession.
    Like traveling.
    Non Alcoholic.

Non Smoking.
    Like to dine out twice or thrice a month.

How much should I expect from my salary.
    Will I be able to save for my retirement ?
    Is my salary good as per my living standard mentioned above
    ?

Without kids it is very doable. You can rent an one bedroom apartment for 15k, food and other daily expense 10k per month. The apartment will be small but big enough to use it a base to explore Hong Kong. You can set aside your target saving then use the rest for entertainment, travel, clothing, gift etc.

shri and Kowloon Goon like this.

My company would be sponsoring my wife's visa. But I am sure it would be dependent visa. Can she work on a dependent visa. She is into Corporate Finance and an Indian CA.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by dreamer_india:
    My company would be sponsoring my wife's visa. But I am sure it would be dependent visa. Can she work on a dependent visa. She is into Corporate Finance and an Indian CA.

Thanks!

Yes, she can work on a dependant visa, and she should. $45K is low for a couple. If you're planning on starting a family soon this can be expensive. Best to start saving now.

You sponsor the visa for her, not your company. She is your dependant.

Rent, food, utilities, tax, MPF, transport, travel - all cost money. $45K will not be so much for saving. Have your wife find a job.

And to remember for renting, pay 2 months deposit, 1st month advance, and half month to real estate agent. That is 3 1/2 months of renting money up front.

I assume employers are still open
    for negotiation. What salary I demand for considering the fact that my wife is not working initially.

Thanks