Like Tree25Likes

HK Expat Moving Back To Hong Kong - IT Networking Industry

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

HK Expat Moving Back To Hong Kong - IT Networking Industry

New member here. I was actually brought up in Hong Kong and in 1994, I moved with my parents to New Zealand due to having asthma. I have lived in New Zealand for over 20+ years and now I am in my late 20s. I am planning to come back. I am currently studying the Bachelor in Information Technology Networking major which involves Wide Area and Local Area Networks and the installation of routers and switches and more. I am also planning to get Cisco Industry Certifications, I.E. CCNA RSE (Cisco Certified Network Associate, Routing and Switching) and Microsoft Certified Network technician. Currently I also study and work in New Zealand, on study days I am usually at campus but on days off, I do work for a IT firm which include working with databases and being trained with installation of routers, switches and etc. Usually in New Zealand when I work, I start at 6:30 am and finish around 3:30 pm or 4:00 pm. What I would like to know is what does it take to get into the IT Networking Industry in Hong Kong as from what I seen Hong Kong provides better career opportunities.

Also I used to be very fluent with speaking Cantonese but have lost some of my ability to speak it due to living in New Zealand, will I have to relearn it since I am planning to come back.

What I would like to know is what does it take to get a job in the IT industry in Hong Kong and also what is the work hours and salary like?

Original Post Deleted
    Most of my relatives live in Hong Kong

You mention that you've been working in NZ, but it sounds like you're just starting out if you're still being trained in device configuration.