Like Tree12Likes

Shipping TV from USA to HK in 2018?!

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mfamos

Shipping TV from USA to HK in 2018?!

Hi, I‘m looking to buy a new tv. We will only use it for online streaming (Netflix, RokuTV, ... or attached to a Mac) and video gaming (PS4 Slim).
    I came across the TCL 55S405. Unfortunately it’s not available anywhere near HK but since it sells at around 350 US$ it‘s still a pretty good deal even when calculating an extra 100 US$ for shipping (= total around 3500-4000 HK$).
    The only comparable TCL Model I found here is the TCL L55P6US that sells around 6000 HK$.
    Do you think it‘s worth getting the US tv and having it shipped back? I know that I‘d need a voltage converter since the US tv runs at 110V and 50Hz - that should be fine. The other difference is PAL / NTSC but do I even need to consider this if I‘m not trying to catch actual TV signals?

I have no experience with this and most posts I found on this subject were 5+ years old and people were mainly concerned about their cable signal back then... so my instinct tells me it should be fine as everything runs throug HDMI or RokuTV. But what do you think?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!

It's hard to justify all the trouble and limited functionality to save a few bucks. It really isn't. Also consider the TV you purchase in HKG has a used-market value. You can sell it when you leave HKG. The American-purchased TV has none. And after your expat stint - let's say three years - are you going to spend the money and effort to ship it back to the US? No, because it makes no sense financially and because there will be better TV's in three years time.

mfamos

Okay I get that... but what kind of ‚limited functionality‘ are we talking about? That‘s my main concern..

I could understand if you were shipping a state of art TV, but a second tier Chinese brand... why?!?