Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

London TO HK

London TO HK

Hi all,

My first post but I am in discussion with a recruitment company for a possible move to Hong Kong for work. I am a chef and expect to work fairly hard in Hong Kong but I am fairly used to that.

I do not have any commitments or responsibilities in life at the moment so I thought it would be an exciting change to my life.

I was just wondering if some of you expats can give me some advice of what shocks to the system i can expect and what is the work/lifestyle balance like?

Is it easy to meet new people especially if I do not speak Mandarin. Are there expat communities to make new connections and friendships with?

Thank you for any help/advice

Matthew

Secretsquirrel3 and MandM! like this.

As a chef your working hours will be the off hours of most expats. That will likely be a bigger obstacle to meeting people/making friends than a lack of language skills (also, I'd opine Mandarin is less useful socially than English and Cantonese). Your crowd might be the trailing spouse who is out and about during the day rather than at the office. I found Hong Kong to be the easiest place I've ever lived to make friends. Everyone is from somewhere else. Everyone has their own story on how they ended up in HKG. Automatically you have several things to talk about . . . i.e. Where you from? What do you do? Where do you live? What bar broadcasts matches of my favorite team? Have you found decent pizza yet? etc.

As for work, there will be a learning curve as you work with locals and non-Brit expats. You'll be treading water for a while but you'll either get the hang of it or realize HKG is not for you. And without a partner or kids, the degree of difficulty is much less than for someone with one/both.

Go for it. Enjoy. Make the most of it. Most on GXP have had great experiences.

shri, imparanoic and PackerFan like this.