Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Getting a job in HK as Interior Designer

Question Getting a job in HK as Interior Designer

Hi, currently I’m staying with my partner who already work here in HK and decided to looking for a job permanently, so I could get the working visa. I already applied and had many interviews with many companies as Interior Designer but none of them gave me an offer. They said that my CV and portfolio is impressive but they said they needed someone with more HK experience for the salary they can offer (my expexted salary is HKD 21.000-24.000) so that they are not proceeding with my application.

Anyone can suggest how to get the job as Interior Designer in HK? Or anyone has networking in this industry? (I have 6 years working experience)

Thank you in advance.

Do you have any local accreditation, for example, BEAM Pro ? any BEAM Interiors experience? That salary seems too low for 6 yrs work experience, do speak and write Chinese? most contractors don't have English. You didn't mention CAD experience? I must these days.

Have tried Interior Contractors? it is very common to bypass the design firm and hire a contractor directly which provides installation service with the "design". However, Chinese is normally required because you will be dealing with suppliers, firms making furniture in China, etc.

Your best asset is not your experience it's your list of clients -- if you have clients and can bring work to the firm you'll get hired.

Another option for consideration keep an eye on the BIG main contractors, often they start a little dept. handling interior design.

jgl likes this.

Thank you for your reply.

Unfortunately I don’t have local accreditation, but well noted will research about it more. I also didn’t speak chinese nor cantonese. Yes I think its a bit low, but it also suggested ampunt by the headhunter cause I don’t have any HK experience before. Eventhough some of the company still thinks that its too high for them.