Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree26Likes

I want to work in HK!

I want to work in HK!

Hi guys!

Just wondering if I could get some thoughts/experiences / advice! I know some of it will probs be harsh and a reality check but I probably need it ������

Basically I really really want to move to Hong Kong for a few years to work / experience it. I have family there and my parents grew up there so I would love to connect with the culture. This also means I have (I think) ROL, which I will be travelling back to HK in January to apply for. So this probably means I don't need to be sponsored for a visa.

I am a 23 year old female from Australia. In terms of professional life, I have just under a year's experience at an international social media company doing corporate events. I started a foreign exchange role in a large international financial services company a couple months ago. This is on top of the experience in more casual jobs whilst studying ofc. I studied social media market stuff so this finance stuff is very new to me so I don't expect to be able to find another random finance role.

My plan so far is to work here for a year and request an internal transfer to the HK office then move around next July. Problem is, my department is not available in the HK location so I will have to switch departments. This is not a problem for me personally as I would prefer to go back into marketing/events but would mean I would have to apply for a new job even if it's internally. I am also worried about my lack of experience. I am currently earning about the equivalent of 32k HKD /month.

If I do move I am currently expecting to pay for my own relocation, however I will not have to pay for accommodation for at least the first 6-12 months as I can live with family. I am also planning to ship my large dog over.