Like Tree48Likes

Is it still desirable to work in Hong Kong?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Is it still desirable to work in Hong Kong?

Hi all,

Need some advises from members of this forum to shed some light about the job market and the general plans/visions of offices of multinational companies in HK i.e. whether they are planning to shift their headquarters somewhere else in Asia or moving their focus out of HK. The reason I'm asking this is due to the recent political turmoil and social unrest in HK.

First of all, I'm currently working in the tech industry, in particular AI and machine learning. Previously graduated from HKU and went to North America for postgraduate. I'm eligible for the IANG visa (international graduates visa). The reason of planning to move back is due to family reason and definitely also the fact that I miss living in HK and I really like the place! It's pretty depressing to see what's happening right now. I've always planning to move there since I graduated a year ago and my decision has been shaken by the current situation.

Can anyone provide a general overview? Also, if anyone who works in the industry which I'm working in or has information about it, can you please tell me about the job market situation? Based on my own research on LinkedIn platform, tbh there's not a lot of large corporations interested in hiring someone of my background. I've applied to some but was rejected.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

It is easier to get a job if you are physically present in HK. Would I recommend coming to HK now, absolutely not! The protests are not going to end anytime soon, and you have to risk yourself every time going out, whether it being in the wrong place at the wrong time or all transportation options getting cut off and being stranded in another district away from home.