• 3 Post By hongkong7
  • 5 Post By Hkemail888
  • 1 Post By rani
  • 1 Post By Hkemail888
  • 1 Post By hongkong7

UK nurse wanting to work in HK

UK nurse wanting to work in HK

Hello everyone,

I am a UK registered nurse with two years experience and I am thinking of moving to HK.
    I went to UK for education when I was 18 and finished my nursing degree in 2017. I can speak and write fluent English and Cantonese but my concern is if HK nursing council would recognise my degree from UK.
    I really want to move back to Hong Kong as that’s my home.

Your advice and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much.

Annie

Last edited by annie_11; 20-01-2020 at 04:16 AM.

There is usually a shortage of nurses and you should be able to get a work permit assuming you do not already hold a Permanent HKID card. The private hospitals pay much better. There’s the nose bleed expensive “Rich Man’s diseases” hospital catering for folks with deep pockets like the Sanatorium in Happy Valley or the Matilda on the Peak. Then there are more reasonably priced private Hospitals like The Canosa you could try. If you are feeling altruistic you could go for Government Hospitals such as The Pamela Youde Eastern Hospital in Chai Wan or a Teaching Hospital like Queen Mary in Pokfulam. The third alternative is working for large Health services owned or run by Expat owned Doctors and Administrators. These are usually housed in top grade buildings in Central. If you need more information I could try and find you some. Good luck.

Last edited by AtomicBunnie; 20-01-2020 at 10:09 AM. Reason: Grammar
    annie_11 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by annie_11
    Hello everyone,

I am a UK registered nurse with two years experience and I am thinking of moving to HK.
    I went to UK for education when I was 18 and finished my nursing degree in 2017. I can speak and write fluent English and Cantonese but my concern is if HK nursing council would recognise my degree from UK.