Like Tree30Likes

Tips/Advice? Looking for a job in HK

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Red face Tips/Advice? Looking for a job in HK

Hi expats, I’m a Belgian looking for job opportunities in Hong Kong. I would appreciate some advice when it comes to getting job offers and the work visa.

My partner is from HK and we currently live together in Belgium. We are both in our mid 20’s and we’re not married. She has recently received a job offer in HK with good remuneration, so we are considering relocation to HK. The problem is, I don’t know if I’d have a good chance finding a job there, and i don’t want to quit my current job before I know i will have one in HK. I have a Masters degree in BM and I have been working at a bank as a digital marketing manager for three years. I’m not really in finance, so I don’t know if my skills and profile are that demanded in HK, that employers would go through all the trouble to sponsor a work visa for me instead of just hiring a local.

Let’s say separation is not an option, how should I get started with the job search (my partner starts her new job in January)? Do I meet the requirements to land a proper job in HK? I’m looking for offers that pays at least the same amount I get paid in Belgium, around HKD 38,000 gross.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Well worth a shot... banks or insurance companies would be the obvious place to look. It's always going to be much easier if you're on the ground over here, but talent is so thin on the ground in many sectors that I think you've got a reasonable shot even over zoom, especially if your cv and application talks up connections with HK. Have you been over here lately?

DanisB likes this.

The skills you have are in demand, local companies will require Chinese language but there are lots of regional roles that don’t.