Moving to Hong Kong in A Few Months.. Many Questions..

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Moving to Hong Kong in A Few Months.. Many Questions..

.. Alright so I am a student, and I am going to be moving to Hong Kong in August to start the semester September 1st, and have many question in preparation to my move.

- My first is about renting a flat in HK. I was originally planning on renting a serviced flat for the duration of my stay (About 10 months) at the HarbourHorizon Front (I think that is the name), I know there are 3 residence buildings offered by the company. I was also looking at the Bellagio, but do not know if they are serviced. So I was wondering if anybody has had any experience there, and how much per month have you paid? I am on a student budget, and I was hoping my monthly rent would not exceed HK12,000, actually I was hoping it would be under HK10,000 per month.

- Well my next question has to do with my first. I am not crazy about the idea of "Used" furniture, and was originally hoping to go to Hong Kong, find a flat, and furnish it myself. I am afraid that will be too expensive though and too time consuming. I will need to come to Hong Kong at least a week or two ahead of the start of the school semester, rent a hotel room, find a flat, sign a lease, move in, and furnish it. So how expensive is furniture in Hong Kong, and could I furnish a 600 sq. ft. flat for under HK20,000 or maybe even HK15,000? Would it even be worth my time as I will only be here about a year, or should I just move into a serviced flat? I might decide to make the move permanent in that case it would be worth it in the long run, but it is so much money and work... (I just really can't get used to using someone else's furniture for a year, and not be able to ruin it or change it out if I get sick of it)......