moving to hong kong for IBank opportunities?

Closed Thread

moving to hong kong for IBank opportunities?

Hi everyone,
    My name is Richard. I am an undergrad student in an above average university in America, who is about to graduate with double degrees in finance and economics in totally 3 years of study. I want to get in to Investment Banking. I am fluent in Cantonese, Mandarin and English. I have good grades especially in major courses. my great drawback is i don't have any internship. I wonder if hong kong will be a better location for me to breaking into the field for following reasons.1) I'll have local advantage (i am kinda from hong kong, i have hong kong ID and passport although i've never really lived in hong kong). 2) My language skills will be more appreciated in Hong Kong. 3) hong kong is slightly less competitive comparing to wall street.
    what do you think? please give me some advice, any kinda of input will be appreciated. furthermore, people suggested me to get an internship in the summer before i graduate.i don't want to because then i can't graduate in 3 years. it will be 3.5 years instead. then again, i really like investment banking. can you give me a list of small investment banks in hong kong? i know the big ones.
    have a good weekend and a happy Martin Luther King holiday,
    Richard

Perhaps you haven't heard about the massive lay offs taking place in the industry? I don't think HK would be any easier at all. Our team had three interns who did two summers with us, all top students from top schools, fluent Chinese + English. We weren't able to make able to hire any of them, and that was during the summer before things got worse. 10-20% of staff at most companies have been laid off in recent months, so no shortage of more experienced competition!
    Posted via Mobile Device

yup agreed with the above poster.

I'd suggest you take up an internship and network first and hopefully the market would pick up slightly by then.