Tips on looking for a job

Closed Thread

Talking Tips on looking for a job

Hi!
    Ok, technically I shouldn't really be on this little forum, as I have no real prospects regarding moving to HK yet, but I was hoping to gain a few tips from any lovely and knowledgeable people already out there. My husband and I have just made the decision to try to relocate for a few years, HK being our place of choice. I'm a teacher and from what I can see, should have no real trouble finding a job out there. However, my husband is a (very experienced) engineering project manager for a very big company in the UK, though his job doesn't seem to have many relevant equivalents that I can see in HK job market.
    I was just wondering how and why you all ended up in HK and how and where you went about looking for your jobs out there, and if you had any tips for potential HK expats??
    I'd be really grateful for any useful ideas anyone had as this is really turning into something we are pursuing at the mo.

thanks in advance

oh, also we're coming out there for a week (hol/rekkie) in May, would it be worth bringing CV's and trying to sort something out with agencies from then? (in your opinion) or just try to find something from here?

Might you leave the "help help help" for people who actually have urgent real enquiries? there are already numerous threads on here covering what you want - why not try the search function first? For example, start here http://www.geoexpat.com/forum/thread18046.html

I had. My questions are 'real'. And I am 'planning my move'. Thanks for your suggestion.

Last edited by Vickski; 18-04-2009 at 05:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Vickski:
    Hi!