Cost of Living in HK - another perspective (and question!)

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Cost of Living in HK - another perspective (and question!)

Hi All

I'm a total newbie to this Forum - have literally registered 30 minutes ago

A few weeks back, my company's office in HK has made me an offer to move there from the UK. They seem quite keen and even flew my wife and I over for a week to 'look around, and love it or hate it'. The job seems quite exciting for me and the family would consider the move (our kids are 18 and 15), however, understanding purchasing power of the salary offered is a real struggle...

My question:
    Putting aside the costs of housing & schools (I already know these are high!), what monthly budget/disposable income a family of four with two grown teens would need in order to keep a decent standard of life in HK?

I mean 'normal decent', not posh - we don't necessarily wear designer clothes all of the time and, as a family, are more in favour of staying together at home than going out six days a week. But we would like to be able to have nice holidays from time to time as well...

We would most probably settle down in DB, because of the school for our daughter (WIS). My office would be in Wan Chai. Wife wouldn't start working/earning at least for some time.

HK$20k a month budget/disposable income wouldn't be enough, I guess? But would 30k be? 50k? More?

Any advice hugely appreciated.

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal

Cost of living is somewhat subjective - some folks claim electricity bills of 10K a month but our household bill has never been over 1K. The heaviest burden can be school fees (and debentures) so make sure you get those covered.

BTW, what will your son be doing? The dependent visa is only for spouses and dependent children up to the age of 18. Will he be looking for a university place here and thus apply for a study visa? Or will he remain in the UK?