Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By chingleutsch
  • 1 Post By gilleshk

About Yew Chung International School

Closed Thread

About Yew Chung International School

Hi,
    I'm an expat teacher looking for a teaching job in Hong Kong - preferably in August. I saw a job opening at Yew Cung Int'l School but I have not heard (or read) much about this school. I was wondering if someone can give me some insights into what this school is like. From the website, they seem to be a bilingual school where each class gets two teachers, an English-speaking teacher and a Chinese-speaking teacher. Their website suggests that they focus a lot on the 'whole' child and hold Christian values. Any other info? Are their salary package competitive compared to other schools? I am also used to the inquiry learning model in the classroom with continuous use of ICT all throughout the curriculum. I'd like to know if these are present at YCIS. I guess I could email the school and ask...but any outsider's opinions and info would be much appreciated.

Thanks so much for your help!

P.S. - While I'm at it, are there many schools that use interactive whiteboards (not just a projector) in Hong Kong?

Sorry, I don't know much about YC. For whatever reason they didn't use to interact much with other international schools though I see it is slowly changing with them now participating in a limited way in the International School sports league. However, it seems to have a decent reputation and their IB students are performing quite well slightly better than ESF and CDNIS students but slightly lower than CIS.