Should I do a US top20 MBA?

Closed Thread

Should I do a US top20 MBA?

Can you give your opinion? Thanks.

I would like to know if I should do a fulltime top 20MBA in the US. ( I have been admitted to a local good partime MBA too). If not, how much a local mba will help in my caes? (After MBA, I want to do real estate real estate development/ real estate finance etc.) If go, how much do you think I could make with an US MBA back HK after graduation? Quite possible lower than now?

I am a mainland Chinese working here in a Chinese company at a managerial position for about seven years. I do property leasing, managing an exhibition center. Before that I had a few years experience doing real estate development in the mainland. My native language is Mandarin and speak execellent Cantonese. I have an civil Engineering BSc from the mainland and a MSc in civil from local university with distincions. I am good at quantity.

One of the reasons that I want to go is that there is no career advancement now in the state owned company while I lose chance to get experience in the real local HK companies. Another reason is that I want to have world perspective and western management skills as well as better speaking English.

On the other hand, I hesitated because of the following reasons:
    1) I am as old as 35, which may be quite old to go for a fulltime MBA.
    2) The current pay is OK if not bad; I am paid more than HKD500K/annum plus residence. That means compared with others to fulltime MBA with usually lower pre-MBA salary I could face larger opportunity cost.
    3) Someone said that top 20 MBA in the US was not quite heard in HK. Local employers will only buy those top 10 or big names such as Yale if not in the top 10.