EDC for Cantonese lessons

Closed Thread

EDC for Cantonese lessons

Hi,

I'm considering taking Cantonese lessons at EDC which is based in Methodist house, Wan Chai. The teaching approach seems quite good to me, based on lots of conversational practice and focus on pronunciation but without a trial lesson its hard to know. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with them?

I've also heard that the CUHK courses are good and have also been considering applying for the April intake. Similar question as above - how do you rate them? I find it hard to know which level I should go in at as I have done some self study and am not a complete beginner so worry that I may be going over old ground on the level 1 course but find the level 2 too challenging. I have not managed to get much helpful advice from the staff on this so would appreciate hearing from someone who has tried the courses.

Thanks,
    Fiona

Quote Originally Posted by Fiona in HK:
    Hi,

I'm considering taking Cantonese lessons at EDC which is based in Methodist house, Wan Chai. The teaching approach seems quite good to me, based on lots of conversational practice and focus on pronunciation but without a trial lesson its hard to know. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with them?

I've also heard that the CUHK courses are good and have also been considering applying for the April intake. Similar question as above - how do you rate them? I find it hard to know which level I should go in at as I have done some self study and am not a complete beginner so worry that I may be going over old ground on the level 1 course but find the level 2 too challenging. I have not managed to get much helpful advice from the staff on this so would appreciate hearing from someone who has tried the courses.

Thanks,
    Fiona
    For CUHK you can take a placement test to determine which course you can jump to: The Chinese University of Hong Kong Mandarin (Putonghua) and Cantonese - Placement Test