CityU or PolyU

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

CityU or PolyU

Hello guys!

I am a Muslim student from Iraq, planning to finish up my degree in civil engineering in Hong Kong.I was offered a very generous offer from CityU and I am tempted to accept it. However, PolyU requested an interview so I don't know which one should I go for. Which is better? I mentioned where I'm from and religion so you would have a better idea when you advise me. I am very much leaning to CityU, is it good? Is PolyU better? I would really appreciate your feedback.

Thanks!

Are coming as a post grad student or research staff?

Sent from my GT-N7105 using GeoClicks Mobile

As an undergraduate. My bad for not mentioning that.

"finish up my degree"? Do you mean you will get credit transfers and just study for a year or so? The normal undergraduate degree in Hong Kong is now 4 years.

Most undergraduates (95%+?) will be local or Mainland Chinese. That's the same in CityU or PolyU. Engineering students do not have the best language skills, so expect a lot of Cantonese and Mandarin to be spoken, even though the degree is officially taught in English.

Hong Kong is an expensive place to live and study. If the offer from CityU is going to help you with living costs and fees, then that would be a major factor in my decision.

Quote Originally Posted by drumbrake:
    "finish up my degree"? Do you mean you will get credit transfers and just study for a year or so? The normal undergraduate degree in Hong Kong is now 4 years.

Most undergraduates (95%+?) will be local or Mainland Chinese. That's the same in CityU or PolyU. Engineering students do not have the best language skills, so expect a lot of Cantonese and Mandarin to be spoken, even though the degree is officially taught in English.

Hong Kong is an expensive place to live and study. If the offer from CityU is going to help you with living costs and fees, then that would be a major factor in my decision.