TESOL or TEFL certification courses 2008

Closed Thread

TESOL or TEFL certification courses 2008

I am a certified teacher in the US and will be looking for a position in HK soon. (I'm on a dependent VISA.) It looks as if TEFL and TESOL certification is a big plus for hiring. Does anyone have a certification course they would recommend? I'm leery of some of the online courses. Are they worth the time?

I have taught 8th grade English (literature, writing, grammar, vocabulary) and have recently completed Orton-Gillingham certification (multi-sensory phonics). I would be most interested in a course that teaches good pedagogy for second language learners, not simply a review of grammar and phonics.

A big bonus would be if the course was accredited by an organization the US recognizes so that I might use it to renew my US certification and/or I could use the credits for a master's degree.

Any suggestions? I've searched forum threads, but they seem to be a few years old. Any recent experiences?

Smile New Tesol

There is a new Tesol course running from Oct. 15-19. Check globaltesol to register

My assumption due to a very low response on this board and others is that the quality of online courses is very poor. So...how did you receive your TESOL or TEFL? Preferably in HK with practicum, but I would also consider travel for a week or so.

If you are already a teacher, why not quickly do a TOEFL test? It requires no courses for you to take. just book the test and i would imagine that this would look good on your resume since it's internationally recognized

edit : ive done one some years ago to enter an mba course. It's widely recognized. with high security since they film you during your test so you cannot cheat. and they objectively establish your level of english. at least, that's what they claim.

Last edited by FilipH; 18-09-2008 at 03:57 PM.

Sarcasm - because beating the crap out of people is illegal