Like Tree3Likes

School placement for teacher training

Closed Thread

School placement for teacher training

Hi

I know there have been somewhat related threads but I would like to clarify a few specific things.

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Statistics and a Master's Degree in Information Systems and about 2.5 years of experience teaching at an international school in Singapore but do not have any formal teaching qualification except for a Cambridge certificate (4 month course).

I have been teaching Secondary mathematics and hope to continue the same in HK. I have decided to do the PGCE from Sunderland but I am not sure how to secure a school placement for the practicum.

Will it help to work as a Teaching Assistant in a "Primary School" or you need to teach at a level you are training for? I don't see any requirements for TAs in secondary schools.

Also, do you have to let the school know beforehand that you are looking at doing your practicum with them?

TIA for your help.

Thanks for your reply eIIe.

What I meant by my second questions is- if I work as an educational assistant at a primary school and do my practicum there, will I still be eligible to teach secondary maths after completing my pgce?

Hey there, just contact the Head of Department for maths at international schools. There are many good, quality schools who will be happy to take you on.

My other advice would be to do your practicum at two different schools. I did mine at one school. It was great and the students were great, but I wish I had gone to another school for my second practicum.

Best of luck.

Hi Chand06,

Did you end up finding your placement? I am also thinking of applying for Sunderland's PGCE (online) for upcoming September but I do not have personal contacts for international schools here in HK so I am contacting the schools one by one. (I am probably rushing it for this year but I wanted to try my best to find a school to take me in)