Like Tree41Likes

Schools and admissions

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Talking Schools and admissions

Well I’m new in Hong kong and I’m 15. I want to continue the study here too. But the problem is I don’t really know the language or ways here since i just got here like 2 weeks ago. How are the international schools here? I’m confused of the education system of how it works. i mean should I continue studying or i drop out ? I really need help for this. It would be great if you guys could suggest something for me.

The International schools here as a rule don't teach in Chinese I don't think. It could be maybe lots of families aren't here for long enough to justify teaching them Chinese* so mainly instruction is provided in English.

* Consulate staff, ambassadors, contracted bank/financial firms' employees who are here only for a limited amount of time so want to enroll in a similar curriculum/syllabuses/syllabi to that followed in their home countries.

In local schools, not knowing Chinese is a disadvantage, even in the universities the instruction tends to be a mixture of Cantonese/Pu Tong Hua/English, with no allowance made for students who cannot understand any of those language.

The international schools may follow the same syllabuses/curriculum utilized in their home countries-UK., (GCSE/ AS/ A Level) USA., Swiss, Canadian etc. I think that IB./IGCSE. are also available.

So can i get admission in international schools without knowing much Cantonese? And since my country education system is ALOT different than here what grade do I apply for or does it determine according to some sort of exams?

Wait a second - how did you end up here in HK? As a dependent with your parents or are you visiting?

Would be quite hard to get into local schools without an appropriate status - dependent visa is usually the case.

International schools will be expensive and again, that goes back to finances and your status here.