Construction Colleagues!! Need help, please advice.

Closed Thread

Exclamation Construction Colleagues!! Need help, please advice.

Hi everyone!

I just wanted to ask your advice regarding my current situation. I realized that a lot of people here in G-xpat are ready to help which was pretty surprising considering that HK is a busy city. My story is a bit long but please bear with me.

I am a non-local Hong Kong resident who has a bachelor's degree in medical technology (BSMT) and diploma in special education (DSpEd) under my belt. I came back to HK last 2007 after studying college to live and work. Prior to my return, I experienced working in hospital laboratories and teaching special children in special education schools. During that time, I realized that I was downhearted in both jobs and started to reflect if I had taken the wrong path.

When I was young, my kin wanted me to be a doctor so I, being a good and obedient child, followed their advice since I also didn't know what to really pursue. During college, many of my friends ask me why I didn't take law/engineering/accountancy/computer programming since I have outstanding analytical skills and was very good at numbers which is basically useless in the medical field. I simply laughed about it and told them that my relatives wanted a doctor in the family. Despite all this, I finished my studies and went through college without any problem. I acquired a working license and was even awarded for being a top-notch examinee by the medical technology board.

After all my experience, I realized that it was not my calling. I came back to HK to find work & tried a lot of dead-end jobs until I finally landed a position in a construction company in Macau. I worked there for more than a year but due to the economic crisis, the project was temporarily suspended. While I was working there, I was happy and I just loved everything about it. Something that I didn't really feel at my previous jobs.