Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Hello I am currently a student at Purdue University in the US and am going on an exchange program to Hong Kong Polytechnic University next year. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on things I should get involved with on campus or which part of the residence halls you would recommend me living in. I'm really looking forward to visiting Hong Kong and want to make the most of it. Any information on the university at all and what I can get involved with would be really appreciated. Thanks, Tyler

I think you can live on campus,we have nice dorm.
    And I m sure you will enjoy it.

Quote Originally Posted by tjgriggs:
    Hello I am currently a student at Purdue University in the US and am going on an exchange program to Hong Kong Polytechnic University next year. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on things I should get involved with on campus or which part of the residence halls you would recommend me living in. I'm really looking forward to visiting Hong Kong and want to make the most of it. Any information on the university at all and what I can get involved with would be really appreciated. Thanks, Tyler

I think as an exchange student you should be able to get a space in a hall which are conveniently near to the campus at polyu.

There are lots of student activities at the local universities in Hong Kong, but while most courses are taught and assessed in English, I think you will find that the common language of interaction for students is Cantonese. This can lead to some international students feeling a little left out. There are however, an increasing number of exchange and non local students studying in universities in HK, so perhaps this is changing.

From what I've read and heard, PolyU is very, very local, so I hope you speak Cantonese!

HKU and HKUST are much more cosmopolitan I believe.