What is the going rate for English conversation classes?

What is the going rate for English conversation classes?

Hi,
    I have started seeing the daughter of an acquaintance on a weekly basis for one-to-one English conversation. I had no idea as to the going rate for this in HK so I went with the mother's suggestion of HK$250 per session (each session lasting 60 - 90 mins). On top of this I write up notes of the student's mistakes / vocab that came up during the conversation and email this through with a few tasks for homework. We're talking about 2.5 hours of my time in total.

I'm interested in knowing what other people charge for this and whether I need to be reviewing my rates!

I have 2 years experience of teaching English conversation in schools in Europe and have a degree in Modern Languages from Oxford...so while not a classically trained TEFL teacher, I'm a pretty decent tutor with many very satisfied former students.

Thanks for your thoughts.
    Cheers,
    Zanzibar

I think you're underselling yourself a bit. I know that ESF teachers with good qualifications moonlight for about HK$500/hr. An Oxbridge degree (assuming you did go to the real Oxford not one of the more recent places "universities" around their that use Oxford in their name) is apparently worth quite a lot in the private English teaching market here. I have been advised (by one such ESF teacher) that I could probably get plenty of business at $400/hr on the back of my Cambridge degree, and that was in Computer Science!

woah $250 plus u do all that extra work?
    definitely selling yourself short..
    i charge $400/hr
    and i dont bring any work home....you should definitely raise your rate.

And before anyone picks me up on...

Quote Originally Posted by PDLM:
    around their
    Yes I know, it was late, and I don't actually teach English for money!

But, with that mistake you've proven that you are qualified ...