diploma in web design and development

Closed Thread

diploma in web design and development

Hi,

I'd like to take a course about web design and development, looking into both as a career opportunity and i've looked into the welkin computer training courses but before i make a definate decision i'm hoping for input from other people, anyone who's taken any course and gone on to work in the field... do you have any advice?

what course is best, from where...

Thanks for any help!

Unless you are a complete beginner who wants to learn a little bit about web design and development, I would not recommend spending time and money on a course to get a potentially useless diploma.

Especially when hiring web designers, employers care more about a good looking portfolio than certificates.

The problem is as geo-seb alludes to, is that web design is still a moving target, and with HTML5, still with a bumpy future. This means teaching institutions will always be behind current technology and methods that make design easier and more powerful.

There is also the twists that many large companies still use a particular version of one browser that significantly causes difficulties when trying to implement newer more powerful interactions and presentations of information.

What this usually means is that you might want to choose a graphic design course to learn the basics - i.e. try to ignore the technological constraints, then go through all the training on W3Schools Online Web Tutorials to how to get from your design to a completed piece of work.

hmm, yea i know the constraints with technology moving faster then teaching methods.. but i have no confidence in learning on my own... even a basics course might help me get on track.